WhatsApp introduces “See Once” feature for users: Here’s how to use it

By | August 4, 2022

WhatsApp’s new messaging feature is something that has taken over from Instagram.

WhatsApp’s parent company, Facebook, has pulled the page from its social media service Instagram and rolled out a feature to be able to post self-destructive photos and videos within the app.

WhatsApp introduces "See Once" feature for users: Here's how to use it

WhatsApp introduces “See Once” feature for users: Here’s how to use it

Expected to arrive in the latest update, the feature has been one of Snapchat’s core features since its inception, but Instagram also implemented it in its app a few years ago, and now WhatsApp is finally following suit. “One View” will allow users to send photos and videos that, as the name suggests, can only be viewed once – once opened by the recipient, they will automatically self-destruct.

It will be deleted everywhere and cannot be forwarded, saved, starred, or shared; WhatsApp has confirmed. Any form of media sent using this feature will not be saved by the recipient, even if their smartphone has a feature to automatically save photos or videos.

Another thing to note is that if any media sent via the ‘view once’ feature is not opened within 14 days, it will be automatically deleted. WhatsApp has asked users to be careful and send this type of media only to trusted contacts like on Snapchat or Instagram, recipients can still take screenshots of the media. It is not yet clear whether the sender will be notified if the screenshot is taken from a medium such as Snapchat or Instagram.

To use this feature, your WhatsApp needs to be updated to the latest version. To send media in the View Once feature, you just need to send the image as before.

This means opening any chat, person, or group, and adding a photo or video – either via the camera icon or via the paperclip symbol on iOS and Android. Before you hit send, hit the View icon once to the right of the text bar. This is the number one symbol with a circle around it with a green signature associated with WhatsApp. A semicircle is made up of dots.

View Once Media can be sent to web apps, desktop apps, as well as KaiOS.

Facebook says: “Taking photos or videos on our phones has become a big part of our lives, but everything we share doesn’t need to be a permanent digital record. On many phones, it’s just a matter of taking a photo.” Meaning it will replace your camera roll forever.

“That’s why today we’re launching new View Ones photos and videos that disappear after opening a chat, giving users more control over their privacy.

“For example, you could send a bar look photo of some new outfit you tried on at the store, a timely quick response, or something as sensitive as a Wi-Fi password.”

WhatsApp says that, like individual messages, View Ones media will be protected by advanced end-to-end encryption, so only the sender and recipient can view them. Messages sent through this feature will appear with a new “one time” icon. After that the media will appear in the chat history as “opened”. View Ones is rolling out to all WhatsApp users starting this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.